SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

IOptron iEQ45 pro OR Skywatcher EQ6-R

waylander

Hi everyone,

I'm just getting into astrophotography and astronomy in general. I've been using a DSLR for a while, doing milky way shots etc etc.

Just bought a Starwave EDR80 and a couple of hyperion eyepeices, trying out some visual and EPP and just getting used to the scope really.

Currently i'm on a completely unsuitable camera tripod, but its allowed me to at least use the scope!

I would like a decent mount, suitable for taking the EDR80 as well as a larger triplet in future, as well as guide cam, guider, dslr etc. It seems these two mounts are similarly priced, both seem to get good reviews. The one thing that puts me off the skywatcher is the weight, it would really put me off taking it anywhere! They both seem to support the same apps/eq mod stuff from what i know. Some people say the 45 pro has a better guider. I also value quietness when slewing too...

Any thoughts? 

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have an "old" iEQ45 V2  that I bought for star parties because of the light weight.

It works well but needed rebuilding as the original QC left a lot to be desired, to give iOptron credit they have a policy of continuous improvement and the latest iEQ45pro is a big improvement on mine.

Mine is quite noisy, don't know about the latest one.

Weight capacity is OK, I've had various setups on it 110 triplet imaging rig, and 152mm refractor with Lunt LS60DS side by side for solar imaging.

Dave

Doesn't support EqMod as far as I know.

3 hours ago, waylander said:

It does look like theres an ASCOM driver, does that mean it can be used with EQMOD? What would you use the ASCOM driver for?