SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello from a Total Noob in Herts

ukuleledaveey

Hello all and wow what a amazing and friendly and extremely knowledegable,informative and helpful bunch you all are.

Have been browsing the various posts the last few nights as well as the sky.And decided to take the plunge and sign up.

I am a total green behind the ears newbie.But i am very fascinated by the sky at night as is my wife and a couple of our neighbours.during the recent hot nights we have been sitting innour communal garden and have been looking up to the stars and mars saturn and the moon.we have been aided a little by some phone apps to.

But we are really getting into it.i am in the process of hoping to buy a telescope in the next couple of months.I have been trawling the web as well as this forum.As there is so many scopes to choose from.

At present i am leaning towards the  sky watcher skyliner 150p as it seems to get a lot of good reviews across many platforms.

Once again hello from me and i look forward to chatting to you on here.

Best wishes

Dave 

• Replies 102
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi, Dave, and welcome. Yes it is a friendly forum and a door to access some of the most knowledgable amateur astronomers. In fact, whisper it, some are professional! 

Have fun with the forum and the hobby.

I have a Skyliner 150 (see sig) and you won’t go wrong with that - although 200 is even better, if you can handle the size. However, there will be many others that may be recommended! Be prepared for lots of input ... ?

EDIT: Don’t turn your face against the used market. Lots of bargains available and, with the right advice (see above ?) you’ll be set right.

Hello floater and thanks for the warm welcome.

Yeah i expect many opinions and appreciate it all.

Yes i definately will consider the 2nd hand market i have no problem with that in fact a store had the 150p used last week but i missed it.