Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Need help getting started with observing dso on a budget

Hello, I'm very new to the practice of astronomy and my interest is with deep sky objects, I very much prefer "goto" type telescopes. Im just looking for a decent set up for visual observations of dso's and I have no idea where to start to look, please help!  

( 500$ budget )

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello and welcome to Stargazers lounge, knowing the country in which you reside will help current members suggest the best available options as distribution rights and other criteria limit what telescopes are sold where, for instance in the USA some dobsonian telescopes are not available in California but are available in all the other states. But by what you have shared so far I would suggest a dobsonian reflector of the (push to) or (goto) variety. Others will chime in soon I'm sure with more specific suggestions once they know your country of residence. But for now know that you have come to the right place...indeed ?

52 minutes ago, SIDO said:

Hello and welcome to Stargazers lounge, knowing the country in which you reside will help current members suggest the best available options as distribution rights and other criteria limit what telescopes are sold where, for instance in the USA some dobsonian telescopes are not available in California but are available in all the other states. But by what you have shared so far I would suggest a dobsonian reflector of the (push to) or (goto) variety. Others will chime in soon I'm sure with more specific suggestions once they know your country of residence. But for now know that you have come to the right place...indeed ?

I updated my profile with my location, thank you!

Hello and welcome to SGL, for deep space its all about aperture and nothing but, i'm not sure what your budget is, but if it were me, I would be looking for a dobsonian scope.