SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Captured videos are blurred

Mike00z

Hi everyone!

I'm a complete newbie in the planetary imaging. This past Sunday tried to film Jupiter, Saturn and Mars, but all videos look blurred and lack contrast. 

https://youtu.be/Up4z0BMBSmE

https://youtu.be/oEpeYnQIWE8

https://youtu.be/nZX3iMFXPfk

However, in the eyepiece the picture is better and has more saturated colors than on the videos. I've tried to play around with gain, exposure and other settings of the webcam, but this gives very little to none effect.

Here's an example of one of the settings I used:

Frame Divisor=1
Resolution=640x480
FPS=10,00
Colour Space=YUY2
Exposure=15,6ms
Brightness=83
Contrast=30
Saturation=100
Gamma=0
Colour Enable=255
Backlight Compensation=0
Gain=23

My setup:

I use Philips SPC 900NC PC Camera with SkyWatcher 1200mm telescope and Barlow 2x lens. For recording videos I use SharpCap. The video was filmed from Kharkiv, Ukraine.

I'm probably doing something wrong because I've seen similar setup producing great results.

Does it make sense to process these videos in programs like Registax to get a good picture?

Just looking for any generic tips, or settings that have worked for you guys.

Thanks!

They do look quite blurred, but I am no expert so not sure if they are really any good. But, as Dave said, planetary videos are, by their very nature, blurry until processed.

Once you have the video though you do need to process with a variety of tools.

I usually use PIPP to process the video - it is a free tool that effectively sorts through the video and pulls out the individual frames as individual images. You can do all sorts of other things with it but you can discard anything under a certain quality.

Then I would go to AUTOSTAKKERT - another free program to stack the images I have pulled out of the video through PIPP

Finally, you can use REGISTAX (also free ? ) to finesse the image with "wavelets"