Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Thank you all

5haan_A

Hello,

2 months ago I had no idea what was what in the night sky. Today I still don't really know what's what up there but I really would love to know more. 

I bought a telescope about a month ago, a dob, and since managing to catch a glimpse of Saturn on one of my first nights out I was completely hooked. Now I can't wait to see more and more up there.

I never thought I would join a forum, let alone a stargazing one, but I have found the community here so good and the resources in the threads so useful in terms of learning that I felt compelled to be part of this great place. So thanks to you all for making this place great. I look forward to being able to contribute in whatever small way a complete novice like me can, and I look even more forward to pestering you for help.

A little bit about me, I'm a Yorkshireman, 27 years old, live near Leeds and work in a fintech company. I have loved looking up at the sky since I can remember but have only recently got in to the proper stuff. 

It would be great if you could share 3 things that you know now that you wish you known when you first started?

Thanks,

Shaan

Welcome to the forum Shaan, I'm sure you will have alot of fun here!

Three things I wish I had known about?

1) SGL. Had I known about it earlier I would have achieved alot more sooner in my observing 'career. To be fair, it didn't exist when I started about 19 years ago!

2) To have understood about the size and brightness of different objects would have helped me know which eyepieces to use to see which objects. I remember being very disappointed by the large galaxy M31 when viewed in my 8" Mak. Little did I realise that I was using something like a 0.5 degree field of view to try to see an object 3 degrees across!