SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

I need an idiots guide to Andromeda!

Not that I have to say, because my terms in this text will say for itself, but I’m a complete newbie to stargazing. 

In my belief, to navigate to andromeda you find the box (which I’ve learned is Pegasus but it’s upside down to me in the night sky), then there’s 2 arms that come off the left hand side (remember he’s upside down to me). If you go to the third star along the bottom arm, and then jump up to the third star on the above arm. 

So my question is...

is andromeda about as far away from the third star on the above arm as it is away from the third star on the bottom arm? And maybe slightly to the left rather than directly above? 

Sorry for the mess of a question x

ps I know it also lines up with the bottom right hand point of the W constellation... I think...

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Just eyes at the moment. Will a celestron 70az pick much more up do you think? 

And going from that map, I think Pegasus is mainly out of view but if I’m looking at what I think is the 2 arms coming off, then I think I have the answer to my question!

All observations will be better with a dark sky   ( eg. least amount of light pollution and no visible Moon).

Those phone apps for locating astronomical objects are pretty good as well to get you started.

It is doable but difficult with just eyes. Relatively easy with a pair of 10x50s, stands out quite nicely in a 250mm dob (though the whole galaxy doesn't fit in the fov).

Darker skies always help. Remember that no telescope can see through light pollution!

23 minutes ago, Skipper Billy said:

If you haven't already got it I would strongly suggest downloading Stellarium - its free and absolutely invaluable for finding you way around the night sky.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/stellarium/ 

IIRC it can also take screenshots in negative format, so you can effectively use it to print out "directions"?