Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A very Excited hello..North of Bristol

Maxbem

Hi all,

Quite excited as I have recently purchased a Skywatcher 200p EQ5 (I am yet to collect). I am new to Astronomy, a keen photographer (No Expert) I will be looking to get into Astrophotography. First I need to learn the scope and the sky!! I will look to upgrade to Synscan in the near future and currently have a DSLR to use. I have got hold of a T Ring and 2 x Barlow to start with. All advice is welcomed.

Please expect lots of questions and it taking me a while to understand the answers!! Really looking forward to my new adventure.

Max

• Maxbem changed the title to A very Excited hello..North of Bristol
  • Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Max - welcome to the forum :icon_biggrin:

Hope you enjoy your new scope.

I'm from Portishead so not far from you. I'm not an imager myself but my advice would be, as you have realised, to get fully acquanted with the operation of the scope and mount, how to set up the alignment, tracking etc and find your way around the sky before trying any imaging.

Also Steve Richards book "Making Every Photon Count" is highly recommended for the aspiring imager (Steve is also a member here) :icon_biggrin::

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/books/making-every-photon-count-steve-richards.html

2 minutes ago, John said:

Hi Max - welcome to the forum :icon_biggrin:

Hope you enjoy your new scope.

I'm from Portishead so not far from you. I'm not an imager myself but my advice would be, as you have realised, to get fully acquanted with the operation of the scope and mount, how to set up the alignment, tracking etc and find your way around the sky before trying any imaging.

Also Steve Richards book "Making Every Photon Count" is highly recommended for the aspiring imager (Steve is also a member here) :icon_biggrin::

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/books/making-every-photon-count-steve-richards.html

Hi John,