Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Live telescope online

Hi everyone! I'm new in astronomy and I'm searching a website, which enables live viewing in space for free! 

I don't mean to websites that show pictures of plants\stars!!

I'm searching a website that enables to watch live in space, to make zoom and to see the gases of space in the screen ( like it's seen through a real telescope).

Hoping to get some help  :)

Thanks!! :))

I think the closest thing to what you're looking for is a "Demonstration Membership" at ITelescope...

Though as I understand it you can only "look" through the scopes and you get no control over the scope.

I can't imagine there's a site that offers their telescopes for free and if so they'd probably be booked out for quite some time

Hi,

I think we are all searching that one :)

Sometimes astronomers put up live feeds of what their telescopes are doing, but if you want to able to control the telescope, then it can start to get expensive.

Tim

Not quite sure I can find you that, although I do know of a project very soon to be up and running from Spain with some amazing scopes at a dark site you will be able to book the use of remotely... but I'm afraid it will cost! I'm guessing there will be more and more of these popping up in the future as investment opportunities ? But they've got some pretty expensive gear going in there and they ain't a charity...

In the meantime I use Slooh.com loads... You can join free but that won't allow you to book time slots to use the scopes which are in the Canaries and Chile... It will allow you to watch other peoples sessions though and you can take your own snapshots during them (not ideal but interesting) I took this snap of the lunar eclipse which is awesome (I know nothing like seeing and taking it yourself in the garden) They also have Canary5 which is a solar cam which I often run live and mirror it onto my TV in the lounge... Now that really warms the room up I can tell you!!