Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_2018_sp_banner.thumb.jpg.a4fa178de7d36660e48f7eb1205319eb.jpg

RomanAU

help on whether I should buy a discounted telescope or not

Hi everyone,

I have joined the forum in the hopes that someone can point me in the right direction to  either go forward with an impulse buy, or avoid doing it.

So, looks like tomorrow starts a sale of sorts for a beginners telescope (this one).  It's a "National Geographic 76/700 EQ Newtonian Reflector Telescope" but to be honest that doesn't say much to me.

I am an amateur photographer and for some time now I have wanted to try a bit of astrophotography. I just want to know if it is a good opportunity to grab, or maybe I should better not. When you  look at it, it is not a lot of money (I'll have to add a Nikon F adapter) to see whether I keep looking at the stars or the telescope goes to collect dust in the garage. There are some specs in the page, but not knowing about the physics of a telescope, I can only assume 700mm focal length should be about twice what I have in my camera right now (albeit a lot slower than my f6 lens), so maybe it's good?

Anyway, for a bit of context, I would like to see the moon, maybe Mars or Venus, and whatever else I can catch and get a good picture of. If I can look at something farther, say Jupiter, that's better, but my main goal right now is to learn whether I like astrophotography or not.

Any help is more than welcome.