SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello from sunny Malvern

PolarisMalvern

Ok.. so my wife (and doctor) say I need to find something to do in retirement to prevent me going insane (at 40.. I am lucky!) :)

I have a passion for physics (very large and very small) - although no qualifications in it and never attempted astronomy. 

I am technically literate (a php developer by trade).  After much research I have taken the plunge into the world of astro-photography with a Celestron CGX 800 HD... it will arrive by Friday.

I know, I know.. it's too much for me (lol.. I don't even own a digital camera yet!)  but hey.. I like a challenge and I have all the time in the world.

I look forward to learning from you all!!

38 minutes ago, Mick J said:

Welcome Polaris,  you can get all the answers here and may find a steep learning curve - always umteen ways of doing things, what fun !

Malvern, what a nice place, walked those hills a few times, you are not far for the SGL starparty in October.

Malvern is lovely indeed... which is one of the reason I went with an 800 and not 1100, just in case I have to drag it up a hill someday! ;-)

I have noted the SGL details.  Looks very exciting, thank you.

1 hour ago, michaelmorris said:

welcome to the first world of amateur astronomy.  Nice to see yet another member from Worcestershire. ?

Thanks Michael... I very much hope, after a little practice, I will join the society to learn more and share my own stories. 

I love the picture of your observatory... I hope to have one too some day.  Do you know, I never considered that you would have an office and shelves in there... you have got my mind whirring at all the possibilities!

21 hours ago, PolarisMalvern said:

I love the picture of your observatory... I hope to have one too some day.  Do you know, I never considered that you would have an office and shelves in there... you have got my mind whirring at all the possibilities!

A man has got to have a shed ?