Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Need advice on telescopes!

Dear Experts. I am looking for a new telescope for my self and my little boy. I am new at this and he is still very young. 

I am almost ready to buy a Sky-Watcher Star Discovery 150i. At the same time, I am interested in a  Sky-Watcher Explorer-200P (EQ5) or NextStar 4SE. I am looking for an easy to go telescope, at the same time I want to see this as an investment, a telescope that we can use at least 5-7 years. 

My budget is around 500-600 Euros. 

Thanks for any advice.

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

An easy to go telescope is one that is mostly up and ready when you want to use it or is easy to get ready.

Hopefully you have a placement at home for the kit, so not travelling.

Some folk may not like my advice, but, go for kit that suits yourself ie the aforementioned, and a good low mag Eyepiece that you can position your young chap in front of to show him the night sky. He won't be able to use a 'proper' Astro Telescope rig at a very young age, and may show no interest at all at a suitable age. But the time spent with you will be priceless in the future.

EQ mounts present different challenges to Alt/AZ, I like EQ, but not everyone does.

Welcome

The star discovery has freedom find which could be very helpful when sharing observing with a child as it means the mount can be moved by hand whether intended or unexpected and still be instructed to find the object you had been viewing together.  

Depending on age you might be better off with a telescope where the eyepiece is at the bottom of the tube. There is also the azgti bundle with the skymax 127mm in budget. (Also has freedom find).

I personally would go for ease of use an a altaz mount.