SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Eyepiece and filter kit?

I'm very new to all this and have brought a 6" Skywatcher Dobsonian. With my telescope, I got a 25mm eyepiece and 10mm. I was looking online for more lenses and came across this Celestron Eyepiece and filter set.

Where I need help is do I really need a kit like this or should I buy individual lenses? My other question is do filters make a difference and are they recommended. 

All recommendations are welcome, 

Thank you for reading.

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hiya,

Personally speaking, I'd recommend staying with what you've got for now. As you use them  you'll start to identify their shortcomings, and get a better view of the sort of features you want in an eyepiece (field of view, magnification, eye relief, etc). They you can research particular eyepieces, and start building up your own set. I've never seen a EP and filter set I was impressed with ...

Kev

The starter eyepiece sets are usualy poor value as while you may end up with a usable eyepiece or two (doubtfull) you’re paying for other rubbish accessories. As mentioned better to buy decent budget eyepieces separately.

Can be a good idea though to buy a zoom eyepiece which will let you find out which focal lengths work for your scope. One of the budget 8-24 or 7-21 zooms can be had for £25.00 to £30.00. Will also teach you a lot about using the right amount of magnification as how quite often reducing the magnification actually gives you a better view.

Hi Final Pr0di9y,