Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Planets too small

I am a beginner and am currently using an INTEY telescope with a 400mm focal length and 70mm diameter with a 4mm lense. I try to look at Venus or Mars, but I can only see them as tiny specs. Am I expecting too much of telescope or am I doing something wrong?

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply
48 minutes ago, Anthonyexmouth said:

you're not doing anything wrong, thats pretty much the limit with 400mm. i would think you'd get a good size moon view. 

The article below suggested that I should be able to see very little but some detail of Jupiter or Mars, however they just appear as white discs the size of a pea. Is that what I should expect of this telescope?

yeah, with that small aperture and short focal length to with high magnification its going to dim too much to see any detail . you should see mars being slightly redish, saturn may show a very slight bulge where the rings would be but thats about it. jupiters moons should show nice and bright

1 hour ago, Eytan said:

The article below suggested that I should be able to see very little but some detail of Jupiter or Mars, however they just appear as white discs the size of a pea. Is that what I should expect of this telescope?

That isn’t what I’d expect - I think you should be able to get a better view if we can work out what’s happening. I enjoy viewing the planets in a 4.7mm eyepiece in a 72mm scope, 420mm length, so not a million miles different from your scope.

Mars should be strongly orange/red, not white. Are you definitely on target?

Venus tends to be bright white and featureless, although very skilled observers do report subtle details. I’d say don’t expect much on Venus, although it should show a pretty clear half-circle profile right now.

Saturn’s rings should be very obvious even if the detail on them is hard to see.

Jupiter should show at least a couple of darker cloud bands.