Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Winjupos Problems

I'm very new to using WinJupos too so do not know that much about it's workings & I do have my own problem with it that I want to sort out but could it be as simple as you have not entered the coords for your observing location. I have also found that it seems to be particularly finicky with the frame aligning, I have been zooming in as far as possible making sure the whole image is still visible on the screen and aligning the frame that way.

Using the contrast & brightness options can help find a "hard" edge to align to amongst the fuzz, be careful though as too much adjustment of these options can shrink or expand the image and make aligning more difficult.

I initially followed this tutorial which got me off to a good start especially when using multi-datasets: http://www.thelondonastronomer.com/it-is-rocket-science/2018/6/7/a-quick-guide-to-planetary-imaging

The bares bones of my workflow is:

Start with the first recording made of the first dataset recorded; LRGB or RGB i.e L filter going through in order taken, (this means less toing & froing with the alignment frame), making sure to change the colour channel in the ADJ tab for the filter you are using before saving the IMS file.

Once you have done this for all you datasets, from the TOOLS menu choose the 'De-rotation of Images' option and start by adding all your L filters IMS files from the previous step, this creates a master L IMS file.

Do this now for all your R filters & so on....

Now in the TOOLS menu choose the 'De-rotation of RGB frames' and load the masters IMS files to their corresponding slots and hit compile.

Also, I assume that you are first stacking each filters recording in AS!3 or similar without sharpening, go for the highest quality you can get, I do not go below 75% quality in AS!3 & on a bad day I get lower than 1% of frames to stack but obviously AS!3 only allows 1 as the lowest entry.