SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

M42 Canon EOS/C11/Orion Skyglow

darditti

I was out imaging the high gibbous Moon last night with a Canon EOS 350D and a C-11, and, as it was transparent and cold, I thought I would give M42 a go with the same equipment, with the addition of a 2" Orion Skyglow filter to suppress the moonlight slightly.

I have never used this combination before on a DSO, my deep-sky work is always done with a cooled B&W Artemis 285 CCD, so I was really amazed how good the result was off a standard unmodded EOS with an inexpensive LPR filter, with a brilliant Moon close by, with short exposures. I could see how good the result was just from the unprocessed display of the camera. I used the camera at 800 ISO with auto noise reduction on (which takes darks after every light frame), and took JPGs, not RAWs. Having no automatic way of doing it, I sat there clicking away for 24 exposures of 30s each, using the AP900 without any guiding.

The images were stacked in DeepSkyStacker and given levels and curves adjustment in Photoshop, without alteration to the colour balance. Clearly there is some noise there and longer exposures would have been better, and it needs a flat as well, but I am really surprised it compares so well to my best result on this object using the CCD (http://www.davidarditti.co.uk/M42-07-03-09lrgb.jpg)

I will definitely be using this method again, with guiding.

David

M42-08-10-17skyglwEOSC11.jpg

Thats not a bad result David considering you shot in jpeg instead of RAW, the trapezium is nice and clear.......Nice colours too.....

I would recommend though if you do use the 350 for future astroimaging that you shoot in RAW, shooting in RAW will give you more data to play around with, even at 25/30 secs.......You should be able to pick up a Canon RS60E3 remote switch cheaply enough, so you wont be limited to just 30 secs subs......