Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What works well with what?

Hi Everyone,

I am very new to this and have just purchased a Skyliner 200p DOB (200 x 1200) to see if a longtime interest could become a serious hobby. I currently live on the outskirts of a large city (london) and will be moving into it soon, but am happy to drive around a bit and find good dark spots.

With this in mind, I have been looking into forums and such, and can immediately tell that there are better eyepieces out there than what I have as stock (10mm and 25mm). However I have seen lots of content reviewing eyepieces and mentioning that they work better with some scopes than others. Could someone either explain why this is (with as few abbreviations as possible) and how to choose an appropriate eyepiece, or point me in the direction of a good article? 

I would also really appreciate some eyepiece suggestions, mainly for looking at planets to begin with I think

Thanks for the help!

38 minutes ago, bunchy91 said:

Could someone either explain why this is (with as few abbreviations as possible) and how to choose an appropriate eyepiece

The main issue will be to do with the focal ratio of the telescope. As the focal ratio gets shorter, the angle of the light cone entering the eyepiece gets larger. which requires more complex designs or more expensive glass to correct. Typically an eyepiece will be designed with a minimum focal ratio in mind. When used with a telescope with a focal ratio below this design limit, the aberrations in the eyepiece will exceed what the designer considers acceptable, with the worst aberrations at the edge of the field of view. This means that cheap/simple designs with a wide field of view will be the worst performers.