SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Greetings everyone, I am a student with a recent strong interest in astrophotography. I currently use a Nikon D3300 and I plan to get for my graduation a small refractor and a tracker mount, most likely a star adventurer. My question is, which is the best/most stuitable apochromatic refractor to use with the SA? The budget would be around 1000€ for all the setup. Thank you in advance and clear skies!! 

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

im in the same boat, ive got a star adventurer and having a £1000 is huge for starting. at the moment im torn between waiting for the skywatcher ed72 to finally come back into stock or bit the bullet and get either a william optics zenithstar 61 or the ts photoline 72 the skywatcher is cheapest and the last 2 are £400ish

Would the star adventurer even have the capacity to support something as heavy as an APO refractor? From what I can see it's a a mount for mounting camera lenses on it directly.

I was wondering this same thing when trying to decide my overall setup, and they warned me against the SA if I choose to do scope imaging.

maybe a better option would be something like a 200-300mm telephoto lens, although I'm not an expert on lenses so take my word with a grain of salt.

I have seen people use small scopes on the star adventurer, though they had to balance it and polar align immaculately which would provide challenges unwelcome to a beginner.

Given the budget, I think you will be better suited to combining the star adventurer with a medium focal length DSLR lens. My Sigma 105:f2.8 has done well (though it is a macro lens and does not perform as well at infinity). There will be cheaper options at higher focal lengths for an APS-C sensor however.