Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First go at planetary imaging

JimothyC

I’m just starting out with astronomy and astrophotography. I’ve been doing most of my observing from the south westish facing balcony of my flat. I only get about 90 degrees of the sky due to other buildings around me. But rather luckily that part of the sky has Jupiter, Saturn and Mars progress across it during the evening. So thought I’d have a go at capturing them.  I got myself a Skymax 127 Mak on an AZ-GTi mount and a ZWO ASI 178 MC and with the help of some longer cables I was able to run the whole show from my sofa. There’s not enough room for both me and the telescope on the balcony at the same time  

These are my first attempts at planetary imaging and I’m quite pleased with the results. But I’d like to improve, so any feedback on these would be great. I’ve tried with and without a Baader 2.25 Barlow, but just found it impossible to align things properly. So these are all just the scope and camera on their own. Images were stacked in Autostakkert 3 and processed a bit in registax wavelets area to try and bring out more detail. Jupiter was taken on 5 July and Saturn and Mars on 6 July  

I’m pretty pleased with Jupiter and Saturn. But Mars was just a red blob. I’m guessthing this is down to the global dust storm. But I was hoping to see some of the polar regions. 

Any feedback or pointers would be greatly appreciated. 

20B58384-D26B-4E28-8D15-1F807FF036AD.png

BB7A7DFB-CD28-4CFB-AE4D-C477A6E154F6.png

FDFF279E-E50F-42CE-B6E7-4AEAFAABEDAD.png

First off these are very good results, especially from a balcony! If you download the program GIMP (freeware) you can play around with colour balance etc to bring out a more natural colour.

As you say with Mars, the global dust storm at present will be hiding any detail, possibly even the polar cap.