Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Filter?

I have been doing AP for nearly 2 years now and I've not purchased any filters. I've situated within the dark skies of Suffolk and I'm curious, if I was to purchase a filter for my optical train, which one would you guys recommend? I mainly capture DSO's so that's a bonus. I have an IR modded Canon 1000D but it has some dust on the sensor and so I've not been using that one recently, but instead I've been using my unmodded Canon 1000D.

Any thoughts? I don't really want to break the bank but I'm curious what would improve my results best? Cheers!

First thoughts would be to see if decent flats remove the dust marks from the images from your 1000d, if not try to clean the sensor.

Secondly I would recommend buying a 12nm H-alpha filter for your 1000d, and it would need to be used with the modded 1000d.

An EOS insert filter is a nice addition, they come in various brands.  Some examples, I have the one in the first link.

https://www.365astronomy.com/Astronomik-H-Alpha-CCD-12nm-Passband-Clip-Filter-for-Canon-EOS.html

https://www.365astronomy.com/optolong-h-alpha-7nm-narrowband-deepsky-filter-for-canon-eos-aps-c-cameras.html

I took this with a Canon 1000d and the EOS clip filter above, about 14 hours integration time total in 600s subs at IOS1600 -->

NGC7000_IC5070_false.jpg

1 hour ago, tooth_dr said:

First thoughts would be to see if decent flats remove the dust marks from the images from your 1000d, if not try to clean the sensor.

Secondly I would recommend buying a 12nm H-alpha filter for your 1000d, and it would need to be used with the modded 1000d.

An EOS insert filter is a nice addition, they come in various brands.  Some examples, I have the one in the first link.

https://www.365astronomy.com/Astronomik-H-Alpha-CCD-12nm-Passband-Clip-Filter-for-Canon-EOS.html

https://www.365astronomy.com/optolong-h-alpha-7nm-narrowband-deepsky-filter-for-canon-eos-aps-c-cameras.html