SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Robotic observatory for Kapteyn Astronomical Institute, advice needed

The Kapteyn Astronomical Institute of the University of Groningen has received funding for a robotic observatory to be located in the Lauwersmeer Dark-Sky Park some distance north-west of Groningen. I have been asked to join the team planning the building of the shed to house the scopes. At least three systems will be housed there: a meteor camera, a scope of the university, and a second scope of a very experienced scope builder (who will also be in the team determining the specs and design of the robotic scope itself). My problem is therefore restricted to housing this equipment securely, in a shed/obsy that can be operated remotely. As I have zero experience, and just a little more knowledge in the area, I would like to tap in to the collective knowledge here. In particular:

- Are there any good sources for designs of both the structure of such an observatory?

- Likewise, do people have wiring diagrams / program code available for Arduino or Raspberry Pi based controllers of the roof?

- Are there particular pitfalls we should be aware of?

- Does anybody know of companies that can build such a shed?

Note that we are think of a roll-off roof design rather than a using multiple domes, which would probably be beyond our budget, and can lead to problems getting planning permission. We also want the scopes to be usable during outreach events, in non-robotic mode, with space for plenty of people.

All advice greatly appreciated.