SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What mount for astrophotography for my SW 200/1200 flex-tube

k0b

I'm very new to astronomy as I have started about 2 months ago, slowly building my equipment. My current setup : skywatcher 200p skyliner flexy-tube on diy dobsonian (lazy Susan) 360° AZ circle + digital level guage.

Because I live in town with LP it's hard for me to find deep sky objects.. but up to now I have found only m51,31 for last 4-5 sessions. I would like to make my life a little bit easier..

So, I was trying to look after some equatorial mount on few forums, and now I know it wouldn't be easy as this stuff is not popular at all. 

My first choice : upgrade kit for my scope to synscan 8" DOB base with GOTO, I can get it for about 450£ from Poland...

Second choice: keep looking locally for HEQ5 mount with or without GOTO second hand as New one is too much for my pocket.

My biggest worry is this HEQ5 will handle my 12kg scope + Nikon d7000 in future? How about center of gravity/ balance scope ( I have extension pipes on my scope so i'm limited, clamps and dovetail bar) if I won't be able to put clamps in right place I will need to add some weight to balance scope.... And agine weight problems...

And second question, if I will go for synscan DOB 8" upgrade kit how this would handle astrophotography? This setup has a pluses as GOTo will helps in LP sky. This setup is designed for my scope balance wouldn't be a problem I think ;)

I have searched whole internet for setup HEQ5 and can't find any images to look for similar setup SW 200/1200 flex on HEQ5, That would help to make choice.

Most tend to err towards NEQ6 for that particular size of scope when it comes to imaging (myself included).

Dob GoTo + tracking will mean your exposure times are limited due to field rotation. EQ mount negates this.

I would suggest that the flextube Dob is not suitable for what you have in mind. It is intended for visual use.