Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Eyepiece for planetary observation

Ganemedes

Greetings and salutations, 

I am an owner of a skywatcher 200/1000 PDS and recently i started questioning myself about buying an eyepiece for planetary observations, especially Jupiter, Saturn and Mars, since this July, Mars will be closest to earth and observation will be easier. 

I currently own a 28 mm eyepiece which came with the telescope, a 15mm celestron omni and a 10 mm X-Cel, with a 2.5 celestron Ultima barlow. My primary thoughts, were either a 4.7 mm explore scientific 82 fov or a 6.7 ES 82 fov, but i really want your advice and point of view in this, since i am relatively new to astronomy, only 1.5 years. 

From a little investigation, i found that televue eyepieces are really perfect for planetary observations, among others, but their cost is really high, especially when one can buy 2 really good eyepieces for the price of a televue nagler. 

Thank you in advance for your replies and clear skies to all!

The Explore Scientific are very good eyepieces so you wouldn’t go wrong buying them.

However for planetary observing the Televue DeLite line are really superb. Only 62 degree for but optimised for planetary use and by Televue standards not badly priced.. 10% off sale at on Televue at the moment as well.

Thank you for your reply, 

I read very good reviews about them as well. In fact this was my alternative, i.e. the televue 5mm, but i thought, since ES are less expensive with bigger fov it would be more clever buying one with a bigger fov. Let me ask something and excuse my ignorance in this. By saying optimised for planetary use, you mean that this eyepiece will not perform the same for dso?