SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Basic astrophotography using Panasonic Lumix FZ72

Hello everyone.

I've just inherited a Panasonix Lumix FZ72 camera from my Dad. As a keen stargazer, my first thought has been to couple it with my Skywatcher 200p dobsonian telescope and take a few shots of the things that I normally like having a gander at of an evening. I appreciate the limitations having an unguided/unmotorised telescope will impose on me when it comes to taking photographs. 

As a total novice when it comes to cameras and photography, I'm really just asking for advice in how to couple the camera with the telescope. I've seen a plethora of t-rings, adapters, etc, with all sorts of nomenclature when I've been searching on the web and I'm just concerned that I'll probably spend money on the wrong piece of equipment altogether, or the right piece of equipment but one that's unsuitable for my camera. I have a barlow lens that I use with my eyepieces, so that seems to be one requirement ticked off the list if I'm going to use the camera for prime focus photography. I'm just confused as to what rings/adapters I would need with this camera to be able to insert it straight into the focus tube instead of an eyepiece. An help would be very much appreciated, especially if anyone could point me in the direction of the specific products required. I'm also probably best asking if my telescope would actually be suitable and enable me to get focused pictures before I took the plunge and invested in some extra equipment!

I've noticed that some adapters enable you to still put the eyepiece in before the camera and give you more flexibility in how you use and image with the camera. Does anybody have any experience of these? Are they suitable/any good?

Thanks in advance for any help and advice.