Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Absolute Beginner - 2 scope choice

Apologies in advance for yet another thread on scope choice froma newbie :undecided:

I'm new to the obsession of starwatching, and my children and I have recently been enjoying the night views from our backgarden with a pair of 16x50 binocs. Cloudy weather permitting of course.

The Kids enjoyed the experience but found the binocs too unweildy and awkward to hold steady, so I decided to invest in a telescope.

My original (uninformed choice) was a Celestron 114eq first scope ordered from amazon and have just had to return it straight away unused, for a refund, due to missing parts and a non-working motor.

So I've researched an alternative or two after reading forums, reviews, a few books and the latest copies of Astronomy and Sky at Night magazines.

The choices are:

1. Skywatcher Explorer 130PM

2. Skywatcher Skyliner 150P Dobsonian (budget could stretch to a 200P at a push).

Both I've heard are good scopes and not too expensive to get us started, but which would be better for 3 keen beginners?

My reservation on the dobs are the eyepiece is quite high and might be too tall for my six year olds to view comfortably. they do have the biggest aperture for the money but dont look quite as steady as the 130pm for use with small children.

Any and all advice is gratefully received. :)

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Scribble, welcome to SGL. As I think you have realised, aperture is king. I would go for the 8" Dob if you have kids. You can always stand them on a little step if they can't see, don't forget the eyepiece isn't always going to be vertical.