Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Taking the next step

I have been imaging DSO's for about 7-8 months now and, other than the weather, fallen totally in love with it!

I currently have an NEQ6 mount and using my Canon 7D and Canon 400mm Lens. Getting, for me, some good results that I am really happy with.

Got PA down nicely (3-4mins subs unguided) PHD2 kind of sorted, getting up to 6mins with good results.

Looking now to step up to a scope and CCD when funds allow. 

Looking at spending around £1000 max on a scope and using with DSLR for the time being. Eventually, buy a CCD to go with the scope. Would really like to shoot Narrowband but know the whole setup will be in the £2k area with a decent CCD & filter set (ZWO 1600MM Pro).

My current thoughts are to go with something like the Skywatcher Esprit 80, WO GT81 or Orion ED80T.

Does anyone have any experience with these scopes and using them with DSLR/ZWO1600?

Just making sure I am making the correct decision with scope for what I intend to do down the line.

Many thanks for any input.

Tom.

Hi,

I haven't used any of the scopes you listed; but you could take a look at the PDS range -- I have a 130PDS (f =650mm) and its a beautiful scope for imaging and visual on DSOs, also very sturdy and well-made. :)

The only downside is the collimation.

John

When you feel like you have exhaused all that your DSLR can do than a CCD, or cooled astro cam, is naturally the next step in progression... I imagine that the ASI1600 is a great astro cam. The reviews of the 1600 are great.

If you go the mono cmos/ccd route you should also consider a decent ed (doublet) scope as an alternative to the triplet apo. You may be able to get more aperture for your money. Just a thought.