Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help Please

Joisme

Hi I have the Orion XTI 8' Dob. telescope.  New to the telescope I bought a 4.7  82 degree eyepiece and a 2x barlow. Will this work well seeing planets and stuff?? Please help I am new to the telescope. Thank you

Hi Joisme and welcome to this wonderful hobby

I would start with a much bigger eyepiece something like a 32mm as you will need to centre the object in the eyepiece and focus before you start to zoom in with smaller eyepieces and barlows.

Thank you .. I have used my barlow with the 10mm that came with it.  I was able to do that.  I just hope the 4.7 and the barlow will work with my telescope well

Hello and welcome to the forum.

The XTI 8 has a focal length of 1200mm so a 4.7mm eyepiece will give a magnification 255x. This might be good for the moon, Saturn and Mars on nights of very good seeing but often might be too much magnification so a slightly longer focal length eyepiece (say 7mm for 171x) would be a better choice. The barlow lens will double the magnification that a particular eyepiece gives so will give too much magnification when used with the 4.7mm eyepiece, or even a 7mm.

Sorry still learning how to use this telescope... It is so different from my 1st telescope... a meade ETX 80mm autostar computerized... 

This Orion 10018 SkyQuest XT8i IntelliScope Dobsonian Telescope  I am trying to learn. kinda confusing.  Would love any advise and help I can get

There is lots of advice on this forum about the 8 inch F/6 dobsonian telescopes. They are very popular in the Skywatcher, Orion and other brandings.

This thread might help with the choice of eyepieces:

Don't get carried away with very high magnifications. Much observing is done at low or medium magnifications (ie: 30x, 50x, 70x, 100x). For the planets, the moon and double stars 130x - 200x are very useful but over 200x not so much and 300x or more extremely rarely.

18 minutes ago, Joisme said: