Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

The clouds that never arrived

Littleguy80

I've noticed that views through my dob haven't been quite as sharp in recent sessions. A quick check showed that my secondary needed collimating. As I've never done this before I was a bit nervous but a quiet Sunday afternoon gave me time to do it. I found it quite straightforward to do in the end. A star test was all that I needed to confirm that I had every aligned correctly but the forecast looked bleak. I still put the scope out to cool just in case!

Come 9:30pm, I could see Venus shining through in a clear patch of sky so out I went. I spent a long time observing Venus, trying to pick out any variations in the surface brightness. There seemed to be an elongated darker area running down one side. I'm not totally confident in this observation but it was a good challenge to try and find some detail in Venus. The only filter used was a Neodymium.

Dusk had properly settled and I moved positions so I could observe Jupiter. Lots of thin cloud overhead but nice and clear around Jupiter. First look at Jupiter at 180x immediately showed the benefits of the freshly collimated dob and what looked to be some very steady skies. All four moons stretched out with two either side of the big planet. I could see multiple belts running around the planet. More detail than I could process/describe with the views staying steady long enough for prolonged study. There were two large distinct bumps (festoons?) coming off the NEB. The Neodymium filter was again helpful. I tried magnifications up to 240x but the best views were around 180x.