Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher EQ5 regrease and latitude modification

I've decided I need to 'refurbish' my Skywatcher EQ5 Synscan mount so here I am looking for advice.

Part 1, stripping down, cleaning and re-lubricating the RA and Dec drives bearings etc I am happy enough to just work through and see what I find but I'm looking for advice on what to use as a lubricant?  I'm thinking a light silicone grease for the axis but I've got very little experience to go on.  Any other advice or things to look out for is also welcome.

Part 2, the latitude adjustment bolts I am more concerned about.  I replaced a bent bolt thanks to Paul (wookie1965) kindly sending me a spare he had but it's still not right.  Looking at photos online it's clearly a design weakness so I'm trying to come up with a workaround.  I tried contacting Gunnar about his NEQ6 mod on this thread but he's not replied. Does anyone know if there is a mod available for this or does anyone have any suggestions?  I've looked at a few ideas like fixing a rotatable pin joint where the plate that the bolts push is located but I'm concerned that I limit the rotation angle too much - I'll know better when it is in bits and I can see and measure everything.

Thanks

Michael

5 hours ago, Synchronicity said:

Part 2, the latitude adjustment bolts I am more concerned about. 

Plenty of people would like an answer to this. My view, wearing my mechanical engineer hat, is that the latitude adjustment should be via worm and sector gears rather than the actual rubbish arrangement which only works for mid-latitudes and not over a range of 90 degrees as it should.  However this would probably be judged too expensive for the market.