SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Just getting started!!

Ukcats82

Gear - Polaris 114EQ-D

Also my Galaxy s8+ for star maps and what not.

OK, so the great thing is I'm a total newbie, but on the other hand in freash and ready to absorb anything and everything that I need in order to make the most out of what I have. It may not be the best scope by ANY means, but it's what I just got for free so I'll take it :)

I'm not familiar with the working of a telescope, how to fail one in to find what I want to see, what all the numbers on the stand mean other than I'm sure they are measurements to direct the scope to the right spot in the sky. 

So what should my first goal be?  A good harvest moon?

1527012616830543277892.jpg

15270126468141676999661.jpg

1527012676740629958519.jpg

15270127020781939264844.jpg

1527012726670732264853.jpg

1527012772552849963666.jpg

15270127895081908729363.jpg

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Buy the book "Turn left at Orion" it's a must for any one new to the hobby. It will give you all the easy targets your scope will be able to see, and step by step guides of how to find the objects.

7 minutes ago, Demonperformer said:

Hi & welcome to SGL. 

+1 for Turn Left at Orion. It is a great starting point.

+2 with Turn Left at Orion. It’s been updated over the years and provides sketches of what you can realistically expect see with with a small telescope. Also have the Sky & Telescope Pocket Sky Atlas as well as the Stellarium App. I’ve been into astronomy for a long time on and off and only just scratched the surface! 

Welcome. As a newbie myself, best thing I did after getting a scope & Turn Left at Orion was to buy a pair of binoculars (cheap second hand 10X50's in my case).

Because many targets look better in bino's than in a scope, but mainly because they are so easy to aim that you will learn your way round the sky so much more quickly than just using a scope.

2 hours ago, Ukcats82 said: