Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Diagonal/polarising filter - odd discovery

Paz

I was moon watching on sunday afternoon in daylight and testing out the benefits if using a single polarising filter to tune out some of the atmospheric scatter. I have used double polarising filters before to dim images, but I've never used one in this way before.

I had the polarising filter screwed into an eyepiece, and was using a tak prism diagonal at first. Rotating the eyepiece and therefore filter back and forth through 90° I could see how the filter tuned out some of the atmospheric scatter and in effect darkened the darks to improve contrast.

I then swapped to a mirror diagonal just with intention of comparing diagonal performance but something odd happened.

The view I was presented with was striking blue to the point that I thought maybe I had moved my filter wheel on to the Blue filter in my filter wheel as by chance I happened to have one in there. That wasn't the case and twiddling with the polarising filter angle resulted in a view that went from black and white to blue depending on the angle!!!

When the tak prism diagonal was in the view went from brighter and more bleached to darker and crisper depending on angle but at all times I think it was always grey/black/white.

Why would a mirror diagonal show blue at some angles but the tak prism appears no to?

For prism I'm not surprised, some prisms polarize light in certain way - for example Herschel wedge / prism polarizes the light, so you can use single polarizing filter to tune down amount of light by turning eyepiece with polarizing filter attached.