Narrowband

How do I view anything on a telescope? - complete newbie

I'm sorry if I ask such a basic question but I'm really new to all this and have never used a telescope before.

I need basic instructions.

My boyfriend got me this for my birthday Sky-Watcher Explorer-130 EQ2 Telescope. We just assembled it. I put this Barlow lens on and the the one that says 10mm inside that one. I have the moon right there and I'm trying to look into the eyepiece squinting but no matter how I angle anything I don't see a thing. I don't even know what side of the telescope tube should be pointed at the sky. As you can tell I'm hopeless. If you could help me with this model I'd be grateful. Thanks in advance. 

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to the forum. If you have an eyepiece with 25mm (like the one with 10mm) use that WITHOUT the Barlow. 

This will give you a lower magnification and make finding and focusing on the moon easy!

10mm plus the Barlow means very high magnification = harder to locate in eyepiece and harder to focus and more critical on other factors like atmosphere and optics.  

The open end (remove the black cover) points towards the moon, the end nearest where you stick the 25mm eyepiece. 

4 minutes ago, iggyiggs said:

Yep, we did that properly. Took a while. 

Now go outside and disassemble it, and then reassemble it. That's what you might be doing every time you use it. You can of course use a torch (red light) to see what you are doing. I wasnt suggesting for you to go out and do it in the dark.lol.

Hi and welcome. The finder probably isnt aligned to the scope at the moment. You can dial them in in daylight (Do NOT point anywhere near the sun of course) using a distant chimney, pylon etc. I use a widefield eyepiece (25 or 30mm) in the dark, locate a known object in the scope then adjust the finder to match.