Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First scope

I am totally new to hobby and need some advice on my first telescope. I wish to view the planets rather than deep sky objects. My budget is around the £100 Mark. I am looking at the Orion 10012 SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope 

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Also consider second hand. I got a lovely Sky-Watcher 150P and a manual Altaz mount for £130. 

The 150 has a 6” mirror which is a very useful step up from the 130 and will see you a very long way into the hobby. 

On ‎17‎/‎05‎/‎2018 at 16:22, mark81 said:

+1 for the 130 tabletop scope. I know its a little out of the price you wanted to spend but you will get much more use out of the extra aperture.

I agree. I am very pleased with mine.

Geoff

Hello and welcome Lynx10, the reflector you linked to is a good starter telescope which I am sure you will enjoy.

If the budget is limited to start out do not forget that a good set of 10x50 binoculars are also a handy way to learn the skies and will always have a use after you purchase a telescope.

Enjoy which ever you decide to get :)

On 5/17/2018 at 07:45, Lynx10 said:

I am totally new to hobby and need some advice on my first telescope. I wish to view the planets rather than deep sky objects. My budget is around the £100 Mark. I am looking at the Orion 10012 SkyScanner 100mm TableTop Reflector Telescope 

I have a Zhumell Z100, which is the same as the Orion.  They're all made overseas, then branded with this name and that once they arrive at market.