Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Stepping up to CCD

Hi, I have been doing DSO imaging for about 6 months now and loving it. Got some great results (To me anyway) with my Canon 7D DSLR, Canon 400mm lens and NEQ6 mount.

I am looking at purchasing a scope at some point down the line (William Optics or Skywatcher Esprit (80mm) and further down the line a new camera. Have been reading up on OSC and Mono and think the Mono with filters is the way I would like to go (Or end up). 

Is the jump in difficulty a big step? Should I be looking at going OSC first? Have been looking at the ATIK 428EX Mono (Plus filter setup).

Keep thinking I am jumping the gun by spending big and should really be looking at something like the  ZWO1600 and see how I go.

Any thoughts, experience with anyone who has been in the same position.

Thanks for any help.

Tom.

My take on this would be to go mono. The 1600 is a nice camera and I am far from realizing its potential. Yes in the UK the osc will give you a quicker on the screen result but with a mono you can go down the narrow band route and image under moon light increasing your imagining time.

The jump is not too bad you just need to be very ocd when it comes to storing the data. I quickly found that I gathered image files at an outstanding rate and quickly become swamped with them.

Coming from a 500d  I was amazed at the jump in quality of my images and with the 1600 I can easily half my exposure times. Of course taking things like darks is also so much easier with point cooling. I just keep a master and only redo calibration files if I think they need changing.

Mark.