Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

iOptron SkyGuider Pro or SkyWatcher Star Adventure

Hey, all! I'm pretty new to astrophotography, and at first I was pretty confused with what I should get but thanks to the helpful people here, I have narrowed my options down to the iOptron SG Pro or the SkyWatcher SA (I am open to new suggestions, though). I just don't really know which one to get. I am heavily considering the iOptron because it includes everything I need in the package, as opposed to the SkyWatcher which would require me to buy the EQ wedge, counterweight assembly, polar scope light, and ballhead mount separately. The Skyguider is more convenient, but I like the way the Star Adventurer looks better than the iOptron. 

Is there really any difference between the way these two function? There's a definite difference in the layout of the controls, but I haven't seen any comparisons of the way they track yet. The Star Adventurer seems a lot more popular here and on other forums, so does that say something?

43 minutes ago, kendg said:

You might also look at the Skywatcher Star Adventurer Astrophotography bundle. It includes the wedge etc/

Which one are you talking about? The photo packages I have seen only include the ballhead adapter and and the mount itself.

53 minutes ago, knobby said:

Seems weird that it's not included in the bundle

it is included, I bought it a while ago, great bit of kit.  My thought process was that the skyguider doesnt mount a small telescope like the Skywatcher one does.  I use this with the WO61mm with good results.  Carrying the counterweight adds some weight, but the flexibility is unrivalled in my opinion, and you can still just use the head and wedge if mounting a camera

4 hours ago, mikeyj1 said: