Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A friday night Markarian's Chain

I had a visit from a photographer friend of mine on friday night, who has taken an interest in my AP from the start and came to see how it's done, and have a go at it with his own camera... Now I fully admit I'm no expert, and I've only just started using an autoguider, but we had a lot of fun and came up against some interesting problems to solve.

Firstly, once he'd arrived and we'd got the scope balanced with all the equipment loaded on it, we started a 2 star alignment and used the bright stars in the process to focus the camera... upon taking the first picute I realised that his Nikon D750 had a full frame sensor and my inch and a quarter focus drawtube was inhibitting the view, producing a black ring all around the image... much like when you point your smartphone camera into an eyepiece and take a shot... But since this session was all about using HIS camera we agreed we could just crop out the dark parts and we carried on.... besides, his camera works with BYNikon, which mine doesn't!

Now, he really wanted a shot of the Pleiades but by the time we'd got everything up and running it was far too low in the sky, so I suggested a galaxy cluster rather than a star cluster and he seemed quite happy with that, so we set the synscan to find M84 and then set about framing the shot and when we were happy with it, set BYNikon to take 24 x 300 second subs at ISO 800 + dithering and finally settled back with a beer :)