Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Anybody have a Sky-Watcher Heritage 90 Virtuoso?

I got this setup not long after I got back into astro and used it for a while. The mount is effective with the 90mm mak and can be upgraded to fill goto with a Synscan handset and AZ cable.

The mount can be fitted to a tripod with a 3/8" thread.

I used the setup for a while but don't tend to use it any more as the 90mm aperture and narrow fov don't really suit DSO hunting though it does perform quite nicely on the moon and planets.

• Thanks 1

I am not getting a new scope right now, but the idea of what I need is starting to crystallize in my brain.

I need this 90 Virtuoso and I need a ZWO ASI120MC-S camera, but as a future purchase.

Edited by xvariablestarx

I've got the Heritage 114p - the same Virtuoso mount but with 114p newtonian scope.

I've been very happy with it - although as a beginner my use has been limited.  It seems well built and it's quick and simple to set up - I can't imagine there's anything better as a truly portable "grab and go" as I can literally just pick it up and carry it outside and onto the garden table.  The concept of the tabletop mount works (fairly) well for me but you do need to be aware that regardless of how solid the table is (or whatever you sit it on) it still depends on the ground/surface underneath - decking with a little too much bounce in my case.  You do also need to work out a seating/standing arrangement that gets you at the right height for viewing.

Tracking has been fine for visual, but I think I read somewhere that as it's movements are very small up/down left/right rather than a true equatorial movement it isn't the best for long exposures?

I believe it also happily works with the Skywatcher wifi adaptor to provide go-to control via tablet/phone instead of having to buy a synscan handset. This is next on my purchase list!