Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Greetings from Denmark

George Gearless

Hi Loungers.

Very excited about finding this forum. I've lurked about for a bit and figured I'd stop 'standing in the corner, smiling shyly' and jump in the mix.

I'm an amateurs amateur. But I am not completely green. Many years ago, I bought a 150mm newtonian reflector on an equaly cheap and flimsy equatorial mount. I think the optics were made in a mudhut in Timbuktu, using a derelict bathroom mirror and then furiously scrubbed with a brilo pad until the (approximate) curvature was achieved. I had generously supported the 'bamboo' tripod with my own attempts at mechanical engineering, and used an intricate system of nuts and bolts and support wires, to avoid the whole damn thing falling down. Needless to say, I often favoured my swiss quality Zeiss binoculars over the arduous task of erecting the telescope, when a stary night was offered. Not to mention struggling with the polar alignment. Moving to an apartment, mid city, didn't help the situation much.

Fast forward 15 years or so.

My interest was recently rekindled. I moved to a house outside the city with a small garden. During the move, I stumbled upon the telescope and figured I'd take it with me in the hopes that having my own garden to meddle about with it, would grant me at least some viewing pleasure. Alas, I must report that the 15+ years in a cardboard box in a damp basement, had not magicaly improved the optics of this exquisite and finely honed instrument. And so my internet research for a suitable replacement started. And yes, my searches brought me by this forum on many occasions.