Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What's your favourite bit?

Synchronicity

Hi All

I've been interested in all things space and science since I was a wee boy watching the Apollo moon landings but am now finally getting the time and money to get into astronomy.  I'm an engineer by profession - and by nature - and one thing I'm enjoying at the moment is learning the new skill of astrophotography. 
I've started with a point & shoot, bought a dslr, then mount, and am hoping to buy my first scope soon.  Every step I've taken there's been lots of skills to learn and problems to solve and for me that's part of the fun. 
After a few weeks I came up with the idea of using a scope and camera to control a mount and track the stars rather than rely on a mmount being accurate and aligned.  The fact that this had already been invented a long time ago didn't bother me at all!

That said, I can't explain the buzz I got last week when I saw a galaxy in one of my images for the first time.  It was the Hamburger Galaxy NGC 3628 and I'd been aiming for the Leo triplet but I was delighted anyway!  I'l not post the image because it's awfull and I don't yet have the skills to process it properly but that will come...

So, what is your favourite part of astronomy and has that chenged over time?

All the best

Michael

Hi there!

Just to clarify, you imaged NGC 3638 without a telescope (just with a camera lens)?. If so then that's Impressive!

I would say that my favourite part of astronomy definitely changes with time. It is normally motivated by me trying to find new uses for my old scopes. At first it was DSOs (not enough clear nights), then I bought a Maksutov telescope and got into solar (white light), then Lunar, then planetary imaging. Recently, I have just been observing with binoculars. I like to dip in and out of different types of imaging depending on the night and my mood.

Dan. :happy7:

Thanks Dan