Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Three 1-meter antennas = One 3-meter antenna?

Hi,

I would like to build an amateur radiotelescope for SETI. I know I need at least a 3-meter antenna, but they seem to be too expensive.

Would I get the same results by using three 1-meter antennas? How would I connect them to make them work as a single one?

Thank you! Regards.

I'm no expert, but i believe you can basically make a radio telescope with as much width as you want for a very reasonable price provided you understand the electronics and physics involved.

I believe you can do it, but I do not know enough to help you. You may need to pick up a few books, and the software you would need to process the information would likely have to be written by yourself.

However, creating a 3 meter antenna yourself (disregarding interferometry) might be doable. You'd need a material (depending on wavelength, a mesh or wire would do) to reflect the radio waves and would probably want to use a Ritchey–Chrétien design (or off-axis variant). It would likely be a fair undertaking either way.

I wish you the best of luck with your endeavor :)

10 minutes ago, pipnina said:

I'm no expert, but i believe you can basically make a radio telescope with as much width as you want for a very reasonable price provided you understand the electronics and physics involved.

I believe you can do it, but I do not know enough to help you. You may need to pick up a few books, and the software you would need to process the information would likely have to be written by yourself.

However, creating a 3 meter antenna yourself (disregarding interferometry) might be doable. You'd need a material (depending on wavelength, a mesh or wire would do) to reflect the radio waves and would probably want to use a Ritchey–Chrétien design (or off-axis variant). It would likely be a fair undertaking either way.

I wish you the best of luck with your endeavor :)

Thanks!