Narrowband

NEW TO ALL THIS

rushy

Hi

My name is Steve (56), i am completely new to this hobby and was inspired by a trip to the Keilder observatory while on holiday last summer. After a little research i have bought myself a Meade ETX90 autostar as my first telescope, it arrived today. When i say i am new to this i really do mean new as in i know next to nothing, i think thr first thing i need to do is read so if any of you can point me in the direction of some good books for complete novices i would be really greatful. I am about to spend this evening reading the forum to see what i can learn but im not sure i will be able to resist getting out my new toy and having a little peek, im looking forward to getting started and exploring a new world hopefully some of you will help me along the way so hello to you all hope to speak soon.

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Steve and welcome to SGL.

This is  a popular recommendation for beginners (and I still use mine so lasts a long time).

It is also worth downloading one of the free planetarium software packages (Stellarium is popular, although I prefer Cartes du Ciel - try both even).

10 minutes ago, Demonperformer said:

Hi Steve and welcome to SGL.

This is  a popular recommendation for beginners (and I still use mine so lasts a long time).

It is also worth downloading one of the free planetarium software packages (Stellarium is popular, although I prefer Cartes du Ciel - try both even).

Thanks that book looks like just the sort of thing i need and not too expensive my wife has ordered me a copy of astronomy for dummies im not sure if i should take that as an insult lol, i have already downloaded Stellarium but will definitely take a look atthe other that you recomend

Welcome to the forum Steve, I’m sure you will find plenty of help and advice here.

If you have a search on YouTube there are quite a few videos on using the scope which might be handy to watch.