SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

WHich Binoculars will be right for me?

Hi,

I have been imaging with an 80/400 telescope for a couple of years with some success and on warmer nights I like to sit next to my scope and watch the sky. It's only just occurred to me that I could see more with some binoculars and have been scouring the internet to see what to buy and ended up more confused than ever.

My telescope has an eyepiece but I have never used it and am used to seeing images composed of 5 to 20 minutes exposures so I suspect anything I see directly will be much less well defined, but it would be great to be able to see some of the larger galaxies and nebulas if that is possible - but can binoculars show these and for example would I be able to see colour in the nebulas?

Ideally I would like something that can be handheld and taken abroad but I'm not opposed to using a chest/monopod.

Can anyone suggest what "size" I should consider and any models - my research is pointing me to 15x70 but I have also seen some people suggesting less powerful wider fov

I don't know what I want to pay, it will depend on what I get for it but up to £100 is no problem and if it was worth the extra I could run to perhaps £200-£300 - but only if it made a significant difference to what I could see and the quality of the image. I'm in my fifties now and wear glasses which I think also makes a difference with choice(?)

Thanks

Jon

1 hour ago, Midnight_lightning said:

my research is pointing me to 15x70

Hi Jon,

15x70s are big...too bulky to hold steady and probably not the best choice for a first pair of binos (I'm happy to be corrected here).

I would go for something more manageable. I really love my 10x50 Nikon Aculon binos. I'm sure there are better binos out there but they are solid and work great for astronomy and terrestrial activities (bird watching and hiking).

Dan :happy7: