Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Geoptik Adapter and Nikon G Lenses

edjrgibbs

Looking for some advice. I'm interested in a CCD widefield setup for my AstroTrac. I've got a Nikon DSLR thus want to use my Nikon glass coupled with my QHY163c. If I got a Geoptik Nikon adapter though (https://www.rothervalleyoptics.co.uk/geoptik-nikon-slr-lens-ccd-adaptor.html) how do you set the aperture on a G lens with no aperture ring?

Thanks 

8 minutes ago, Uranium235 said:

Try this:

Attach the lens to your DSLR camera as normal, set the aperture. Turn the camera off, remove the lens.... done!

Is this from personal experience with a Geoptik adaptor and Nikon G lens? There are conflicting accounts on the internet some of which say the lens defaults to max aperture when the camera is turned off...

Thanks

Ok, try removing the lens while the camera is switched on. It shouldn't break anything,  though the camera will report an error. 

I've no experience with nikon lenses, but with canon lenses that have no manual aperture setting, that's the way I would set it (setting up with dslr, then remove).

I thought that lens trick only applied to Canon lenses ?

Re the adaptor. I was going to get a similar adaptor a few years ago and had worked out that the best way to use it was rather convoluted. 

Buy a Canon Geoptic adaptor and a Canon to Nikon G adaptor. Something like this - https://www.lensadaptor.com/nikon-g-canon-eos-adaptor  Ignore the price there are much cheaper ones !!

Then you can operate the aperture mechanism.

I've heard of people jamming bits of match stick in their lens but I wouldn't do it personally ! ( Jam the linkage open ) 

Unless Geoptic now make a proper adaptor I can't really help.

Dave.

Edited by davew

I know what you mean ! Look at the sales pages for this adaptor and it doesn't tell you what will and won't fit, that I've seen anyway. It will fit an Ais style lens.