Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What scope to get?

Hello everyone,

I am new to telescopes and wondered which one I should get. I m baically interested in seeing crates in the moon, rings of saturn, cloud bands in jupiter and some other galaxies, I read good things about 4 scopes: celestron advanced vx 8" schmidt cassegrain, nexstar 8 se computerized, skywatcher 12" collapsable dobsonian, and proed 120 mm doublet apo refractor.

I really want to go ahead and get a all around good telescope right off the bat instead of starting with a beginners one. I m just not very familiar with which one would work the best for me. My budget would be between 1 - 2 K.

Thanks 

Don’t know that much about the other scopes but if you want a good scope that does everything then can’t really go wrong with a dob

Edited by Dinoco
  • Like 2

I suggest that you not spend the £2K right away, but acquire a small and easy to manage instrument first.  Otherwise you may conclude after a while that you have spent £2K of an instrument that you don't much like and which is a pain to use.  The instruments you cite all have their merits and you won't know which is best for you without trying them (or a smaller and cheaper variant). 

Things to consider:  How portable do you want it to be? Are you interested in deep-space photography (in which case scrap that list and start again)?

What mount? For visual, there is a case for having an alt-azimuth GoTo.  But if you want to do planetary astrophotography, an equatorial GoTo might be better (ask the experts). 

If I was spending £2K, I'd probably get a 8" Celestron SCT on one of the more expensive alt-azimuth GoTo mounts.  :icon_biggrin: