Narrowband

Photoshop - Curves or Levels?

Ive been processing DSO images for a few years now so have some experience doing this with PS but I still cant decide whether to use curves or levels for stretching etc. Many folk seem to discuss using levels rather than curves.

Seems to me I do best with curves for preliminary adjustments when in layers and levels for tidying up the final merged image.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Total processing newb here but I use both ... I use levels initially to set the left end to foot of histogram , then have a few gradual tweaks with curves and then do the levels again every so often but in RGB to keep colour balance ok.

25 minutes ago, knobby said:

Total processing newb here but I use both ... I use levels initially to set the left end to foot of histogram , then have a few gradual tweaks with curves and then do the levels again every so often but in RGB to keep colour balance ok.

OK thanks for that. And like you I tend to use curves separately on RGB. I guess the question is, does curves do something fundamentally different to what levels does or vice versa?

1 minute ago, knobby said:

Levels stretch is quite linear but curves can be fine tuned to only adjust certain levels of image.

... I think !

Agreed - thats my impression. But somehow on occasion I seem to get a result with levels that I cant get with curves - maybe a false impression.

Yes I anchor points and tweak the curve in whatever area I feel needs it.

I've seen some of Doug's videos and really like them - trouble is he sounds so much like Sean Lock I can't take him seriously!

2 minutes ago, knobby said:

There are tutorials on you tube that are pretty good ' astrobackyard' 

I've watched so many of Trevor's videos I feel like I know him personally! 

Sorry for crashing in. I am still learning all the post-processing stuff so have followed this thread. :thumbsup:

17 minutes ago, Tommohawk said: