SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Jupiter with Asi290mm and C9.25, to Barlow or not to Barlow that is the question

Pete Presland

Having recently purchased a Asi290mm, I have some fairly decent Lunar images and some average Jupiter images (still a work in process)

I have been mostly imaging at the native focal length, possibly a little more with the focuser/filter when in position. This gives me resolution of 0.25"/pixel, if I use a x1.8 Barlow this will be approximately 0.14"/pixel. This seems a bit oversampled, especially for the UK seeing conditions and the position of the planets.

The native set up seems to give an image that lacks a bit scale to ne honest. The image below is a work in progress from the 25th

5a9715c379eb8_2018-02-25-0544_2-PeterPresland-RGB.png.6cf94beab3442e772917ce04692b1596.png

• Like 4

I also have this camera for planetary and lunar imaging. I am not an expert in this kind of imaging, but I was told and also read, that for this pixel size optimum sampling is at f/15. So maybe f/18 is a little bit too much, but also Jupiter now is far from perfect position in northern Europe, so it will be hard to get decent images this season I think :( 

If you have regular barlow (not powermate or other teleextender) you can decrease its magnification a little by shortening distance to sensor (if it can be done at all). 

• Like 1

2 minutes ago, drjolo said:

I also have this camera for planetary and lunar imaging. I am not an expert in this kind of imaging, but I was told and also read, that for this pixel size optimum sampling is at f/15. So maybe f/18 is a little bit too much, but also Jupiter now is far from perfect position in northern Europe, so it will be hard to get decent images this season I think :( 

If you have regular barlow (not powermate or other teleextender) you can decrease its magnification a little by shortening distance to sensor (if it can be done at all).