Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First telescope thoughts.

First and most importantly I'm not in any rush as my birthday isn't until July. So i have plenty of time to think things through. My budget will be an estimated £120-£150. More towards the former though as there might be some non astro stuff to get. 

I've been reading many web pages and bashing the threads on this site and seem fairly settled on the skywatcher heritage 100p. For the moment I'm happy binocularing in my garden in these cold evenings of late picking out and learning the constellations. I envisage a similar use for the skywatcher in which I use it to learn the skies. I may at some point around July, join my local astro club. 

Now, a quick question on eyepieces if I could please? I have limited experience in "bird watcher" style spotting scopes. All i know is when the magnification gets cranked up, the quality of the optics deteriorate accordingly. Would it be worth while to swap out the stock 10mm eyepiece for a celestron x-cel lx 9 0r 12mm? Yes sorry I'm not all that clued up on focal lengths and numbers ect!   I don't have a clue how to work out magnifications or what works with what focal length?.

Thanks in advance.  

Craig.

Magnification = Telescope focal length / Eyepiece focal length

Heritage 100p = 400mm focal length

eyepieces = 25mm & 10mm

400/25 = x16

400/10 = x40

With a 100mm aperture you should be okay up to about x100

It comes supplied with a barlow lens (x2)

If you insert the barlow into the focuser followed by one of the supplied eyepieces then this doubles the magnifcation (x2) so x16 becomes x32 & x40 becomes x80

I would plan to use the supplied stuff for a couple of months before buying more stuff. First thing to think to change is the "finder" and plan to buy the book "turn left at orion" as this will help you find stuff to look at. If you cant find anything then magnification is irrelevant :)

Alan

Hello Craig,