Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Lunar Session with Binoviewers 24/02/18

AdeKing

Last night was the first chance that I've had to use the new to me William Optics Binoviewers that I've had for about a month or so.

I decided to set the ST102 up on the Tele-Optic Giro GR2 that I received in the post from @Highburymarkon Friday though in hindsight first use of the mount coupled with an OTA with Binoviewers probably wasn't the smartest move and it took me ages to get the setup to balance at an altitude where I could observe the moon. It would probably have been more sensible to have used the SkyTee but I had a new mount and I was jolly well going to use it!

Once balanced I decided to stick with the WO 20mm eyepieces and TAL 2x Barlow giving me somewhere over 100x magnification but how much over 100x I haven't quite figured out.

Armed with my trusty copies of Rukl and "Discover The Moon"  (because I'm still a novice) first targets were Clavius and Longomontanus which kept me capitated for ages trying to see how many small features I could pick out on the floor of Clavius and then taking my time to inspect the crescent of impact craters on the floor of Clavius. Onto Longomontanus, the crater floor was very dark but I noticed a pale area NW of the crater centre with two peaks forming bright white spots like cats eyes looking back at me. 

Moving to the north and into Mare Nubium showed me the Rules Recta was clearly visible as a long straight line oriented roughly NNW - SSE just to the east of Birt and Birt a, but at the magnification I was using I could see no evidence of Rima Birt despite trying for some time.

Moving west my gaze settled on the flooded crater of Kies with a clear promontory extending south and a low but broken crater rim to the northwest and west. I thought that the outline of Kies resembled a stags head with antlers. Rupes Mercator was clearly visible as a NW-SE aligned line of hills and peaks to the SW of Kies.