Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Binoculars cheap vs pricey

JOC

I've mentioned this trip to Scotland - as part of the exercise daughter is going off solo for a few days on a nature course.  I was going to provide her with her own set of binoculars to watch things like birds and seals - she's only on her tod for a few days so I don't want to spend a fortune.  If I picked up a set of new 8x40's like those going on ebay for around £20-£25 by makers like Visionary and Kepler would I be buying something useable?

I am going to keep an eye on SGL classifieds to see if I can pick up something more decent before push comes to shove, but I have little experience with bino purchase and wondered about your thoughts please?

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

At the bottom end the big thing is quality control, which is very variable. So buying a pair you've looked through is best. For all that, in my pre-astronomical life I used assorted ultra cheap Russian binos for birds and wildlife with great enjoyment. A binocular has to be really bad not to beat the naked eye!

Olly

You can get a pair of Olympus 10x50 on Amazon.co.uk for just under £60, they are superb for terrestrial observing and just as good for the night sky, personally i would stay away from the £20 option as quality control will be non existent and materials used will be of a very poor quality (I’m assuming) 

I bought a pair of compact 10x25 bins for taking on nature walks. They're lightweight and easily slip in the pocket. Not much use for astro but in daylight they're fine.

Something water resistant might be a good call if possible. British Isles are not the driest place this time of year....or any other really.

I've taken a punt on a set of these:  Revelation 10 x 42 SF Waterproof Roof Prism binocular - I found a set brand new except for a damaged box for £45 they are described as: