Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_dslr_mirrorlesss_winners.thumb.jpg.9deb4a8db27e7485a7bb99d98667c94e.jpg

Mexican Bob

Celestron CG5 Advanced GT mount

Hi. I’m quite new to astronomy and a GEM . Bought a second hand CG5 without proper knowledge of what I should have been looking for. I think that I have a problem with Dec axis travel. I’ll try to explain but please bare with me if I’m not making total sense. RA axis travel in both directions is good ( in smoothness and speed ).So is the Dec axis travel going clockwise, but anti-clockwise, the motor is slow and sounds laboured. I’ve replaced the motor in case it was that ,but the problem persists. Also when I release the direction button, the motor continues to slew for 2 or 3 seconds. Has anyone had a similar problem or has anyone any ideas how I can fix this? 

Thanks in advance 

Ola Bob !

Does the dec labour without the OTA?

If it doesn't labour then it sounds like OTA balance - in one direction the weight is aiding the motor, in the other it's  overloading the motor.

If it's the same witthout the OTA then i would check the gear mesh.

I'm sure I've seen mention of continued motor operation before but cant remember the details....

Michael 

Hi Micheal.