Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron 130SLT and ZWO ASI1600MM

It should be ok... I use a DSLR with a filter wheel on a SCT and its fine...

the DSLR sensor is further back in the body comparing to the ASI1600, so I'm sure it'll be fine.

Probably comparable back focal length to a DSLR without a filter wheel and others have achieved focus with a DSLR on a 130SLT.

• 3 months later...

When I was a freshman in college, one of my first 'scopes was a used Celestron PowerSeeker 127mm, which is very close to your Celestron 130mm. It seemed okay, at first but once I joined clubs and started using other 'scopes, the Celestron 127mm literally became the worst one. I found that, by comparison, the primary mirror was outright horrible. It was dirt cheap and "blurry." They also suffer from aberrations. The focuser was also junk. I sold the entire EQ 'scope for $30, which is, what I paid. However, I learned how to use altitude & azimuth, ect.

Do you want the truth or a lie? Here it goes, the SLT 130mm has a good focal ratio and a descent aperture size for astrophotography but that's it. If it's anything like the 127mm, it is probably ... Don't get the wrong impression, any 'scope is better than none but those mid sized Celestron reflectors are "brutal." I can see, why you chose it, for imaging & some DSO spotting around but the mirrors and focusers are real poor quality - rough. Atleast, that's how it was a few years ago. Instead, I would have gone, with a 90-127 mm MAK and used the MAK for observing. MAKs are alot of 'scope; cassegrains are the most advanced.
Your camera is super expensive but your primary mirror has low quality. It is comparable to like a Bushnell Northstar and the cheap kids sets. A $30 'scope & $1,000 camera is ironical? 

37 minutes ago, Science562h said: